A Little Constriction Can Set You Free

Yi Shun Lai
3 min readApr 17, 2022

While packing for a weekend away in a new-to-me location, I left behind my sketchbook. I wanted to see how I’d do if I only had my agenda to draw in or take notes with.

I use a Hobonichi Techo with Tomoe River paper, which holds up a little better than regular paper. I’ve used watercolors on this paper before, with halfway-decent results.

watercolor painting of a blue-skinned mermaid on agenda paper over a sticker from “baology,” a restaurant in Philadelphia.

I’m not sure I had a really complete thought about leaving the paper behind; I only knew that I didn’t much feel like lugging around a sketchbook or even heavier watercolor paper, even though I fully intended on using watercolors over the weekend. I know. Looking back, it’s an odd choice. I can only explain it by saying I really liked the way the water in watercolors makes this particular paper crinkle just a little bit.

We were in a lovely place at the weekend. We were on the Oregon coast. On my runs I traced the clouds with my hand held as if I was holding a brush. I jogged with my hand in the air and my gaze held up to the sky, trying to feel my way to strokes that would approximate the loose rain falling from the belly of the…

--

--

Yi Shun Lai

Author: A SUFFRAGISTS’S GUIDE TO THE ANTARCTIC (2024), Pin Ups (2020). Former columnist, The Writer. theGooddirt.org Psst: Say “yeeshun.” You can do it!